Family members of tank truck operators win TXTA grants

Firebird Bulk Carriers and RB Stewart Petroleum Products family members are among 32 winners of the Texas Trucking Association (TXTA) Foundation academic scholarships for the 2024-2025 school year.

Justyn Thorton (Firebird), enrolled at the University of Texas at San Antonio, earned the Mike Craddock Memorial Scholarship, a four-year scholarship awarded to the top freshman; and Madison Richardson (RB Stewart), a student at the University of Houston, also received an academic scholarship.

This year, the Trucking Foundation distributed $151,500 in academic scholarships and $35,000 to 10 trade and engineering candidates pursuing truck driving careers – all to students affiliated with TXTA member companies. TXTA has awarded more than $2.5 million in scholarships since 1991.

“After decades of awarding student scholarships from the foundation, I am excited to continue this legacy for the next generation,” said Brandon Woods, president of the TXTA Foundation, in a news release. “The Foundation is proud to give back to families who have moved this country forward and to individuals with roots in the transportation industry.”

The 2025-2026 grant period will start in December 2024. Trade and technical fairs are available all year round.

The recently announced scholarship recipients are:

Top Recipients of TXTA Foundation Academic Scholarships

  • Mike Craddock Memorial Scholarship (Four-year scholarship awarded to the top freshman recipient): Justyn Thorton, Firebird Bulk Carriers, University of Texas at San Antonio
  • Stoney Reese Stubbs Memorial Scholarship (Awarded to the top recipient from Texas A&M at College Station): Kristin Smith, Atmos Energy, Texas A&M University at College Station
  • Ed Kyrish Memorial Scholarship (Awarded to the Top from The University of Texas at Austin Recipient): Allison Andrade, PortServe Transportation, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Rex & Marillyn King Foundation Scholarship (Awarded to a top recipient): Nicole Loy, USI Southwest, University of North Texas

Recipients of trade and technical grants

  • Mehki Course, diesel technician student, Lincoln Tech
  • Jaime Galan, CDL Candidate, CR England Premier Truck Driving School
  • Brandon Garcia, CDL Candidate, EP Texas Trucking School
  • Daniel George, Heavy Truck Technician Student, St. Phillip’s College
  • David Liaw, CDL Candidate, ACE Trucking Academy
  • Edbrion McAllister, CDL Candidate, Driving Academy 160
  • Cristian Olivieri, Diesel Heavy Technology, Pennsylvania College of Technology
  • Alexander Pena, CDL Candidate, Del Mar College
  • Emily Ring, welding/engine student, Wyo Tech
  • Manuel Saenz, CDL Candidate, EP Texas Trucking School

Academic Scholarship Recipients

  • Chase Alford, Apache Oil Company, The University of Texas at Dallas
  • Alvin Andrade, PortServ Transportation, Texas A&M University at College Station
  • Breezy Bishop, Lone Star Truck Group/TAG Truck Center, Texas State University
  • Brooke Bilby, Huntington National Bank-Equipment Finance, Texas A&M University in Commerce
  • Wiley Bilby, Huntington National Bank-Equipment Finance, Weatherford College
  • Alyssa Brade, Texas Moving Company, Mary Hardin Baylor University
  • Cyenna Cheatham-Deleon, Double Diamond Transport, Sam Houston State University
  • Randi Childress, Refrigerated Transportation, Tarleton State University
  • Sergio Cruz Ovalle, Kyrish International Truck Center, Texas A&M at College Station
  • Taylor Davidson, Atmos Energy, Northeast Texas Community College
  • Harlee DePoyster, Housley Group, West Texas A&M University
  • Zachary Graf, Lonestar Specialty Vehicle, University of Arkansas
  • Madison Harper, Cummins Sales & Service, University of Arkansas
  • AnaClaire Henderson, Housley Group, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
  • Kyle Komro, Canopius, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Charli Maddox, Select Transportation, Texas A&M University at College Station
  • Elainna Mosley, Select Transportation Resources, Lamar University
  • Analysa Munoz, Love’s Travel Stops & Country Stores, Texas A&M University at Kingsville
  • Madison Richardson, RB Stewart Petroleum Products, University of Houston
  • Sarai Rocha, Southwestern Motor Transportation, Texas Tech University
  • Victoria Rodriguez, W&B Service Company & Superior Trailer Sales, Texas A&M International University
  • Michala Scarborough, Lone Star Truck Group/TAG Truck Center, University of Arkansas
  • Hunter Schulz, BWI Business, Angelo State University
  • Pamela Serensits, GenOx Transportation, University of Missouri
  • Lyzzi Stanton, TNT Crane & Rigging, Lamar State College-Orange
  • Kimberly Torres, LeeTrans, Stephen F. Austin State University
  • Natalie Zarate, Acme Truck Line, The University of Texas at Tyler
Back To Top